The Friends of the Ashley Schiff Preserve Executive Board is composed of four officers (President, Vice-President, Secretary, and Treasurer), a community liaison, and the chairs of all standing committees. We meet monthly, and any member of the FASP is welcome to attend our meetings.

Schiff Family Representative: Dorothy Schiff-Shannon



President: Sharon Pochron



Sharon Pochron teaches in the Sustainability Studies Program at Stony Brook University and is the PI of the Worm Lab. She is also the director of the Ecosystems and Human Impact major. She joined the FASP because the woods offered her students an opportunity to escape the walls of campus and a place to study interactions between people and the environment.


Vice-President, and Scholarship Committee Chair: Paul Siegel

Paul Siegel

Paul has been a member of the Friends since its resurrection by the campus environmental committee. He has at various times served as vice chair and chair. As chair he is most proud of having worked with the membership to create and enshrine the by-laws and creating the Guardian of the Glade award to recognize those individuals who have provided exceptional service to the Friends. He sees the Preserve as providing a tangible measure of honoring the University’s beginnings and one of its early professors.

Secretary: Sue Avery


Sue is a botanist, a certified landscape designer and has experience volunteering for various conservation organizations, namely Seatuck Environmental Association, Long Island Native Plant Initiative and Four Harbors Audubon Society.  She is passionate about conserving open space for the benefit of all.


Treasurer: Donna Digiovanni

DD Stetson3_082709Donna is the Assistant to the Chair for the Department of Ecology & Evolution at Stony Brook University.   She joined the Friends of the Ashley Schiff Preserve in 2005 when the committee was recruited to advocate for the preserve.  She echoes the goal pf the Friends: to ensure that it would not be developed and to keep the preserve “forever wild”, highlighting the importance of natural areas.


Community Liaison: Nick Acampora



Nomination Committee Chair: Lauren Donovan



Education Committee Chair: David Taylor



Management and Planning Committee Chair: Chart Guthrie



Membership and Development Committee Chair: Maureen Murphy



Other Roles

Although not members of the Executive Board, the following members play prominent roles in the FASP:

Social Media Coordinator: Melissa Cohen



Preserve Monitor: Abigail Higgins